Orange Tuile

Follow me: Instagram Facebook

Orange Tuile

I was strolling through the website for an interesting and easy recipe that I could use as part of my cake decoration. Then I found ‘Lacy Almond Cookies by Everyday Food with Sarah Carey’. I have adjusted the recipe slightly. Personally I quite like this recipe, it’s easy and quick. This can be done ahead of time, just store them in airtight containers and silicone gel.

Ingredient:

  • Butter unsalted 60g
  • Sugar 50g
  • Honey 60g
  • Salt 1g
  • All-purpose flour 30g
  • Almond meal 30g
  • Orange Zest 1   I used Navels or Valencias orange

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven 160c and prepare baking trays with silpat (My oven can only bake 1 tray at a time, I had to bake 4 times)
  2. Place sugar, honey, almond, salt and butter into a sauce pan, on low to medium heat. Once the mix has melted and boiled for 1 minute, turn off the heat then add zest and flour. Remove from heat.
  3. Put 1 teaspoon of the mixture onto the tray, leaving 1½ inch apart (the mixture will spread).
  4. Place in the oven for about 10 minutes (this also depends on your oven), rotate the tray half way. Remove from oven and let cool about 2 minutes, if you would like to make your tuiles into shapes now would be the time.
  5. Keep them in an airtight container with silicone gel.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

